graphic Jesus represented by fish symbol

And I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?” Then I said, “Here am I! Send me.” (Isaiah 6:8)

Like Isaiah, Pastor Long heard the voice of the Lord calling and accepted the call “to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness the prisoners.” (Isaiah 61:1)

The Lutheran Church of South Sudan confesses the Triune God: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. The church confesses Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior and the Gospel as the power of God for the salvation of all who believe.

  1. Jesus Christ is the Word of God incarnate, through whom everything was made and through whose life, death, and resurrection God fashions a new creation.
  2. The proclamation of God's message to us as both Law and Gospel is the Word of God, revealing judgment and mercy through word and deed, beginning with the Word in creation, continuing in the history of Israel, and centering in all its fullness in the person and work of Jesus Christ.
  3. The canonical Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments are the written Word of God inspired by God's Spirit speaking through their authors, they record and announce God's revelation centering in Jesus Christ. Through them God's spirit speaks to us to create and sustain Christian faith and fellowship for service in the world.
  4. The canonical Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments as the inspired Word of God and the authoritative source and norm of its proclamation, faith, and life.
  5. The Apostles', Nicene, and Athanasius Creeds as true declarations of the faith of this church body.
  6. The Unaltered Augsburg Confession as a true witness to the Gospel, acknowledging as one with it in faith and doctrine all churches that likewise accept the teachings of the Unaltered Augsburg Confession.
  7. The other confessional writings in the Book of Concord, namely, the Apology of the Augsburg Confession, the Smalcald Articles and the Treatise, the Small Catechism, the Large Catechism, and the Formula of Concord, as further valid interpretations of the faith of the Church.

The Lutheran Church of South Sudan structures into one Synod, two districts, parishes and congregations. The two districts include Greater Upper Nile and Greater Equatoria Districts, each headed by a vice president and a dean. A district is an administrative subdivision composed of at least three parishes or more and "parish" being another administrative subdivision composed of five congregations or more depending on the size of the congregations. According to Article 7.02.02 of the church’s Bylaws, the LCSS recognizes 50 adults or more gathering for worship and Sacrament as a congregation.

Synod Council

  • 1. Rev. Jordan M Long — President
  • 2. Rev. Julius Badigo — Vice-President for Greater Equatoria District
  • 3. Rev. James Chieng Bol — Vice-President for Greater Upper Nile District
  • 4. Rev. Bakoyo Thomas — Dean – Greater Equatoria District
  • 5. Rev. William Deng Lual — Dean – Upper Nile District
  • 6. Right Patrick Taban — Secretary
  • 7. James Tor Chol — Treasurer
  • 8. Rev. Samuel Tomothio — Information Officer
  • 9. Peter Riang Gatdun — Member

Greater Upper Nile District Council
(Upper Nile, Jonglie and Unity States)

  • 1. Rev. James Chieng Bol — Vice-President
  • 2. Rev. William Deng Lual — Dean
  • 3. Rev. Simon Dep Puk — Secretary
  • 4. Pal Kun Chambang — Treasurer
  • 5. Peter Kuany Dup — Information officer

Greater Equatoria District Council
(Western, Central and Eastern Equatoria States)

  • 1. Rev. Julius Badigo — Vice-President
  • 2. Rev. Bakoya Thomas — Dean
  • 3. Right Patrick Taban — Secretary
  • 4. Rev. Charles Bringi — Treasurer
  • 5. Rev. Philip John — Information Officer